Sheila O'Kelly's Blog

Freelance journalist, sub-editor, and e-novelist

Reflections on technology

leave a comment »


The temperature has gone up and it’s damp and muggy. Not that many people out walking this morning. I love the reflections in the river when the sky is grey. And Mr Heron is out again, perched up high surveying the scene.

I listened to a particularly enjoyable episode of Leo Laporte’s  US TWIT podcast while I was walking. You can subscribe to it at http://www.twit.tv/211 or via iTunes. They were warning people again about the hacking going on at WordPress. If you have WordPress blog you really need to upgrade. WordPress.com seems to be okay, it’s WordPress.org that is vulnerable.

The TWIT podcast is my favourite tech podcast although I also enjoy Technology on the Right Hook http://newstalk.ie/newstalk/podcasts/13/technology-on-the-right-hook-show.xml for a purely Irish slant.

Snow Leopard was discussed on another issue of TWIT. The conclusion was that this upgrade is no big deal and you don’t need to be in any rush to get it. Particularly if you have CS3 and use PhotoShop a lot because Adobe is not offering support for any compatibility issues. InDesign is reported as working fine.

And speaking of technology, these pics were taken with the iPhone. My Canon is much better but I didn’t have enough pockets to carry it. Must remedy that.

Upgrade that WordPress!

Majestic heron is not bothered by the drizzle

Majestic heron is not bothered by the drizzle

When it's raining, I usually listen to a podcast when out for my morning walk

When it's raining, I usually listen to a podcast when out for my morning walk

Written by SOKNH

September 8, 2009 at 11:29

Leave a Reply

